Day Three: Musical Muses

Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Today’s twist: You’ll commit to a writing practice.


 

Yet another free writing theme. Well, that is the best there is. Well, the post is to be about music. It has to be done, here’s another Harry Potter  Quote:

“Ah, music,” he said, wiping his eyes. “A magic beyond all we do here!”

– Albus Dumbledore, PS

Well, music is magic. There’s nothing to say that goes against this. Music is something that can alter our thoughts and emotions. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been uplifted by the right music. The right music either makes me forget everything and smile. Or, can make me remember everything and cry. Way to go, music, way to go.

So

Number 3 on my list is a Tamil song, Naan Varuven (Changing Seasons) by A. R. Rahman.

That song is a very personal one. Every time I felt that I would not be able to convincingly live with my passion of writing, this was the song that kept me together. This song, I believe, is of the latter type of songs – that which makes me remember everything.

Number 2 on my list is again a Tamil song by A.R. Rahman.

It’s Nenje Ezhu (literally it commands the heart to rise). It’s a motivational song which has managed to pull me out every time I felt bad about anything. In fact, one of the lines that is a refrain is actually about how one’s sincere love can NEVER be destroyed. And I say, I do love writing. And every  time I felt really bad whether I could have a future which had a place for writing, this song managed to make me believe in it.

The song has excellent lyrics and music. Particularly a couple of lines which are

anjaathey thunjaathey
ini enrum illai vethanai
puthithaai pirapaai
vali engum un mun poo mazhai
anbaalum un kaadhal ithu vaazhum sathiyame
tholaiyaathe entha irulilum maraiyaathe

Translated to English (and thus stripped of their essence)

Fear not, weaken not; soon misery will end.
You will be born new, flowers adorning your path.
Your love is the living truth
Stay on! Let darkness, not swallow you up.

(Copied From http://www.magicalsongs.net)

Aaaand…

Number 1. Actually, I am going to stick to a whole genre for song number 1 – That of devotional songs.

Yeah, well. I’ve got a lot of belief in God. I really do pity the atheist for the fact that they don’t have anyone to thank for a life-changing miracle. I’m not against atheism. Some of my best friends are atheists to the core. That is a further reiteration of the fact that opposites attract. Coming back to the reason why I chose this genre, I always feel that God is my source of energy.

Energy exists in a variety of different forms

Similarly, I mean, the God you believe in could very well be different from the God I believe in. But God as such, is a form of inspirational energy that we all draw from. Every single time I’ve had any problem with anything, I’ve prayed. And I’ve found an answer waiting for me. In perspective, every situation that we face possesses some amount of good. It’s upto us to bring that out. Every cloud does have a silver lining. If we haven’t found one, it’s just a matter of time before we do. There is some good in everyone. There is some positivity present in all of us – which is reflected in our choices and actions. And, in the end, we do have to look for the same power of positivity. And as far as I am concerned, it is a prayer that helps me bring out that power of positivity.


A couple of notices.

1. I’ve always wanted my blog to reach out to more people. So I’ve always tried to generalise my content. But when the theme is to be about 3 songs, well, I could have gone for English songs

  • Substituting Naan Varuven with Show Me The Meaning (Backstreet Boys)
  • Substituting Nenje Ezhu with Roar (Katy Perry)

 to reach out to a larger section of people. The substituted songs also produce a similar effect. But then, English is, after all, only my second language. Tamil, on the other hand, is my mother tongue.

2. I have no intention of hurting anyone’s religious sentiments, whatsoever. I am really sorry, and apologise if I have hurt anyone’s beliefs. These are my personal views, and am not forcing any of my beloved readers to take them up. Once again, I do not intend to hurt any particular group on the basis of their religious beliefs.

12 thoughts on “Day Three: Musical Muses

  1. Nice to read your favorite songs. Nenje Ezhu is one of my faves. Haven’t heard the first one before, but I’m liking it already! Thanks for sharing.

    And btw, I’m a staunch atheist 🙂

    Like

  2. Those songs were beautiful. And I really liked your paragraph about God. I think we’re all a part of God somehow that I don’t understand. I wanted to say, too, (I don’t know if you read my series about adopting our daughter from India) that Tamil is what Kavitha spoke when she came to us.

    Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

