Day Eight: The Familiar Stranger

Today’s Prompt: Go to a local café, park, or public place and write a piece inspired by something you see.

Today’s twist: write an adverb-free post.


 

The Familiar Stranger

I awoke late, thanks to the pressures on my blog
And raced to the bus stop – placing a jog.

Once inside, with a ticket to my destination,
I settled down for my journey to my educational institution.

I spotted an old couple sitting side-by-side
Something about their faces made me forget the ride.

Their features seemed too familiar for comfort,
I had seen them before – but where, I couldn’t report.

Throughout the journey, I couldn’t take my eyes off them
As their’s, were as brilliant as a couple of pairs of precious gems.

I still couldn’t place my finger on the familiar stranger,
And after alighting, forgetting their faces was the danger.

And as I saw a mother waving to her little child
My mind gained peace and grew less wild.

I hadn’t recognised the two people sitting together – till now
I had recognised the emotions that played on their faces – true love.


Writing poetry, is easier and faster for me. I think I am taking the easy route when I have to get done with a blog post.

And please point out the adverbs that need to be “done to death”

4 thoughts on “Day Eight: The Familiar Stranger

Just type :)

