Day 11: Memory Lane

Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old?

Today’s twist: pay attention to your sentence lengths and use short, medium, and long sentences


I have had Photoshop lessons. And that introduced me to a feature called content aware. This post seems to be a full blown account of writing with awareness about the content and this is what goes through my mind when I read this. LOL. And I have a personal twirl on Today’s Prompt. An experience that I had when I was a tiny 12 year old nerdy kid. It was a competition for which I had been chosen for to participate in the national level and had been carted to New Delhi for the same. The qualifying round was actually simple. The round involved a multiple choice question answer quiz about computers and such. The unexpected was getting selected. There were brainier kids in my class, not to count for the brainier classes nearby. The worst part – was the actual journey to get to that competition venue in one piece, in peace. New Delhi was freezing. I could hear my chattering teeth and watch by breath condense in the air. For someone who had spent their whole life in a city that has three seasons – Hot, Hotter and Hottest – this was magic. We checked into the lodge. We, as in, all the students selected for the national level. Then, I took one of the worst decisions of my life from which I learnt one GREAT lesson from my life. Each one was in a team with another student. My teammate was a pampered kid, whose parents tagged along for the trip. And once in the lodge, there was an option waiting for me:

i) Either sleep in a huge dorm like set up,

ii) Or shift to the room booked by my team-mate.

And I chose the latter door. I shut the dorm door and opened the room of my teammate. We didn’t discuss strategies. In fact, I think I brought with me an awkward silence into his family. I’ll keep the story short. I’m not going to provide the embarrassing details. Seriously, I believe I could have had more fun in the dorm room with about 50 other kids. *Sigh* I learnt one lesson with that trip. One door closes for you to open another. More often than not, it is you who makes the choices as to which door you choose.


 

And about how it’s your choices that count, well others’ choices do count. To quote myself, …the choices that every single person (involved directly and indirectly in your life) make in your life is like one piece of a puzzle. Those are the destinies that you are meant to fulfil. And then, the final piece of the puzzle, which completes it and brings out the whole beautiful view of the picture is your choice. It’s your choice that will define or defy the importance of all the previous choices.

6 thoughts on “Day 11: Memory Lane

  1. But what happened to the competition?? 😛

    Anyway, I liked how you thought of Photoshop’s Content Aware! Sometimes I wish I could write like that – being fully aware of the content 🙂 But mostly, it’s always Content Unaware, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The truth about the competition?

      “The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with great caution.”

      ― J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

      Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

