Day 15: An Immortal Phoenix With a Horcrux

Today’s Prompt: Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force. How does that make you feel?

Today’s twist: While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word choice, tone, and rhythm. Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through. Before you hit “Publish,” read your entire piece out loud to ensure it sounds like you.


 

Before I even begin, I know I’m going to hate this prompt. I have grown to prefer writing spontaneously and then checking for grammar errors and then pushing the publish button. But no. Now I have to “Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through”. This isn’t going to sound like me – I usually think as I write, but think before I speak. And I like writing a teeny bit more than I like speaking. But then, who said we have to speak to make our voices heard?

Of all the events that I’ve ever been a part of – my blog on WordPress has been the best so far. I had a rough patch in my life last year – well explained on this Post. After that at a point of time – I just couldn’t write. I started believing that writing had been just a passing phase in my life and I was fated for some other mortal job.

And then my blog, this blog happened. Initially I used to scout around, begging everyone to visit my blog. And they, mostly for courtesy, would say “Wow. Keep going”. Then I signed up Writing101. And I discovered my writing strengths again – they rose like the Phoenix from the ashes of my self-demotivation.

Every single like and comment and follower boosted my self-confidence as a writer. Writing became a part of my life again. I amazed myself with some posts. Some other posts, which I thought were a dud – amazed my Readers. (Thanks to you, dear Reader for reading this now).

My blog has become my Horcrux – a part of my soul. A point in my life to cling to. A place in the world where I am making better memories. And this Horcrux has led me on the path to the immortality of a writer. A writer lives as long as his works are read – and believe me, Shakespeare still lives on in our schools.

And damn –  if this was taken away from me and is cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force. Actually, it is quite possible that this is going to happen. For more details, search online for Net Neutrality.

And if the neutrality of the internet is displaced even after so many protests (that are going on), well then – I, and many more along with me – will fall and break. Not just financially, but emotionally also. I will burn to ash again.

But then

Why do we fall? So we can learn to pick ourselves up
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/359232507750798566/

The Phoenix arises only if it becomes ash. Oh yes – we will rise. And we won’t just rise. We will have an anthemic BGM when we do.

I wouldn’t be comfortable listening to the lyrics with my parents – Don’t say I didn’t warn you about the expletive language. But the song has quite a “we-shall-arise” feel to it. So it kind of levels out. And the song has had some critical acclaim.

Now, play the song, and read the post again.


 

I’ve used quite a number of links and references to works by other creative people [read authors and songwriters] – A huge thank you to you all for inspiring me 😀

9 thoughts on “Day 15: An Immortal Phoenix With a Horcrux

  1. I like how you think of this blog as your horcrux. I never thought of mine that way, but it’s true. A part of my soul does lie within those words that I create. And I’ve always said this, there’s an excellent writer in you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha there’s more to your blog than just ‘Keep going’! Keep pouring these amazing ideas,thoughts and opinions of yours in this oh so brilliant and out of the world manner that you do.
    I loved this entry. Also, victory shalt be thine, Net Neutrality.

    Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

