Day 16: Neither The Beginning Nor The End (Part 3/3)

Today’s Prompt: Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.

Today’s twist: If you’d like to continue our serial challenge, also reflect on the theme of lost and found more generally in this post.

The first post in this series, Day Four: Lost in Thought (Part 1/3) can be considered as from the dad’s point of view.

The second post in this series, Day 13: Faith Found (Part 2/3) includes a conversation between the father and the son and has a reference to the mother also.

And, hence, I welcome you to the third, and most probably final post in the series – from the point of view of the boy.


So many people in this whole wide world – and I get that question. And that too, from my dearest dad.

If every creation needs a creator, then who created the creator in the first place? If the creator had always existed, then why can’t the world have always existed?

I lost my peace of mind. This has been running around my head ever since my father asked me. And that happened right after I analogised with him about flowers and children. Expected an impression. But no. He sticks to his atheism even more.

And here I am, losing sleep over my Physics exam. Wishing I was at Hogwarts – they always get their exams cancelled. God save me. Or if I go by the Physics book – May the God particle save me.

I lose consciousness and drift off into dreamy sleep with the fat book as an excellent pillow.

I see my Physics book transform into shreds and decompose – into a seed. A seed which I planted in my garden. But then the seed isn’t just a seed – but an apple, which has fallen off the suddenly blooming tree. Where did that come from? The leaves come down and fall into a pattern. Some recognisable pattern – I just can’t find out from where. Then an apple falls on my head.

I wake up to the gravity of the situation. Damn it, the biology exam was over yesterday – but the nightmares aren’t.

Then I find the pattern and recognise it. It’s the one on the cover of my Physics book. I’ve found the meaning of my dream

“Which came first, the phoenix or the flame?

Well then, I think the answer is that a circle has no beginning.”

Or an end.

And with that – I think I’ve also found my peace of mind.


Partly inspired from

5 thoughts on “Day 16: Neither The Beginning Nor The End (Part 3/3)

  1. Aha! I did have a sneaky suspicion that this is gonna talk about my question when you said you were dealing with religion 🙂

    But I’m glad you finally found peace of mind. Apologies if I shook things up a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No. You didn’t shake things up at all. The prompt asked for a continuous involvement of “lost and found theme” That’s why I said so.

      I’ve friends who don’t believe in God. So, I’d be shaken before itself now if I was to be shaken up.

      So chill down and have a Butterbeer.

      😀

      Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

