Day 20: Bookmarked Memories

Today’s Prompt: Tell us the story of your most-prized possession.

Today’s twist: We extolled the virtues of brevity back on day five, but now, let’s jump to the other side of the spectrum and turn tolongform writing. Let’s celebrate the drawn-out, slowly cooked, wide-shot narrative.


I was never a really active kid. Maybe I was never allowed to be. The irony? The area playground is actually one of my neighbours. And yet I never ventured there. Because, well, I had discovered this wormhole, right inside my house.

Maybe it is the other way round. I discovered it, because I never ventured out. Nevertheless, this collection of books is what I talked about as my wormhole.

A picture of my books
Lovely. Splendid. Recognise the pun in the title?

To quote myself,

…books that can transfer to where I want and to when I want. One moment I could be lazing around with Tom Sawyer, the next moment battling Lord Voldemort and then swaying into the future with an Asimovian novel. The smell of the papers in the book. The sight of towering shelves of volumes of publications…

From: https://theblogofkarthi.wordpress.com/2015/04/07/day-two-a-room-with-a-view/

Well, yeah. The books that I have would be my greatest possession ever. Once, one of my friends wanting to tease me asked me a question. He asked what I would do if he set fire to my books. And he has never seen the light of the day since.

Well, some do ask me why I don’t take up ebooks instead. Sure they are

  • Consuming less space
  • Easy to move
  • Easy to share
  • More efficient
  • Costing less

and so on. Granted that they do have their fair share of advantages. But then real books have so much more aesthetic feel than an ebook. Real books, NEVER, run out of charge. And if there’s someone who you want to punish or physically maim, try throwing a thousand paged book at them. You can never get that satisfaction from an ebook. Never.

So what would I do, if they did catch fire?

I’d wake up from my nightmare and do an inventory of my collection.


And about that friend of mine, I dropped him inside a library and made him read till he became a bookworm. Now he’s still inside. Never volunteers to step out to see the light of the day.

 

20 thoughts on “Day 20: Bookmarked Memories

      1. That’s so cool. The fact that you manage to maintain your collection. Awesome. You’ve earned the respect of anyone who read that comment. 😀

        Like

  1. I was that kid too. And nobody understood *why* I had to read. But I have absolutely no regrets. I wouldn’t be the same person if not for the books I’ve read.

    But I had to transgress to the other side. Of Ebooks, yes. As I no longer stay in my parent’s home, it’s difficult to maintain a physical bookshelf, now that I’m also moving a lot around. I do have numerous paperbacks back home but it’s no longer being added to. I bought a Kindle, and life hasn’t been the same since. 🙂 It’s convenient in a way, majorly because you don’t have to wait for your book to get delivered but I do miss the feel and the smell of paper sometimes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. The same question! Why do you read story book? aren’t your textbooks more than enough to read from?

      As if they could understand the joy of reading.

      To quote a friend about choosing: At times, we have to choose between what is right and what is easy.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. Truer words were never spoken.

          Wait.

          Truer words have been spoken.

          ” Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?’

          Liked by 1 person

    1. The actual process was longer than what’s mentioned here. But still, that WAS the end result. So yeah. Mission Accomplished. Achievement Unlocked.

      Like

  2. “And if there’s someone who you want to punish or physically maim, try throwing a thousand paged book at them. You can never get that satisfaction from an ebook. Never.” Laughed right out loud! I have a list of why I don’t have one, but never thought to add something like that on there! LOL Really enjoyed your post, Karthi. I am so on board with the idea of books being my wormhole… thank God! If I had to stay in one place all the time I’d go start ravin’ mad. And that would not be pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read ebooks more often thesedays, just like the points you stated, consuming less space, easy to move, I can read them everywhere, unlike the physical/real books. But honestly, I love reading real books more. The smell of paper, and they are healthier for eyes. The real books are irreplaceable. Although I read a lot of ebooks, I always love to go to the bookstore to buy my favourite books. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, sometimes, we are forced to adapt to the situation, but never mind. As long as we are still at our books whenever we can, it ain’t a sin.

      “The real books are irreplaceable. Although I read a lot of ebooks, I always love to go to the bookstore to buy my favourite books”

      That’s seriously cool. *Applauds*

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow even by the looks of it, your mini library looks like a place I want to go to right now. =) I LOLed at ‘try throwing a thousand paged book at them’. Priceless. xD
    This was a great read!

    Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

