DOA

A picture of a waterfall, with a bridge accros it
This week’s photo prompt is provided by Etol Bagam. Thank you Etol!

“Stop. You don’t have to do it”

Her voice reached past the sounds of the waterfall as she ran towards me as I perched precariously on the bridge, as if I am planning to jump. Which I am.

“And why shouldn’t I?”

“Well, think of your family, friends and the people who will miss you when you are gone !”

“I don’t have any”

She opens her mouth to speak, but I already know that she would make the same old speech that I have been forced to listen to at every other spot where I attempted to suicide.

But she doesn’t.

“Exactly. You need not be dependant, nor would you need to be accountable and responsible. You can actually live the life that you wanted to do, as a teenager for the rest of your life.”


I realised that she did have a point, as I order another round of alcohol later that evening. I do have something in my life to cling on to – my freedom.

I realise I have rediscovered my will to live.


NEWS ALERT:
MAN DEAD DUE TO BINGE DRINKING. EYE WITNESSES STATE THAT THE VICTIM HAD IN FACT ORDERED AND DRUNK SEVERAL ROUNDS OF ALCOHOL, AMOUNTING ALMOST TO 6 LITRES IN A SINGLE NIGHT. DEATHS DUE TO ALCOHOL HAVE TO BE LOOKED INTO BY THE AUTHORITIES.


 

Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers Week (July 29 – Aug 4, 2015) – 222 words.

For my other Flash Fiction Entries, visit https://theblogofkarthi.wordpress.com/category/flash-fiction/

For other Flash Fiction entries for this photo prompt visit http://new.inlinkz.com/view.php?id=548717

For other prompts https://flashfictionforaspiringwriters.wordpress.com/

15 thoughts on “DOA

  1. Very poignant post Karthi! All the times he wanted to commit suicide and then once he decided he had a reason to live after all, he is killed by a poor decision on his part of ordering another round of alcoholic drinks. Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

