Presenting the Future to my Past

“We all have our time machines, don’t we. Those that take us back are memories…And those that carry us forward, are dreams.”
― H.G. Wells

Reading the diary of the past years or scrolling down the Facebook timeline into a couple of years ago is a very very dangerous thing for your self esteem.

It is quite equivalent to re-watching episodes from past seasons of your favourite serial. Personally, I would want to jump in at the characters and covey to them that they need not worry at the events that occur to them, no matter how problematic they appear. Coming from a relative future, I pretty well know that the problems are but passing clouds. If I would want the fictional characters of a series on video or in a book to change their mindsets and be more relaxed, I come to believe that it would be the very thing my future would tell my past – Don’t fret. Nothing is worth panicking over.

If you had the chance, would you also not do the very same action – pass on a message to your past self to not worry about the things that you used to lose sleep over until you realised it wasn’t worth it? There are so many things that we are anxious about, till we reach a point in time when we come to know – it’s not worth it.

How would it be, if you were reading from your diary and think up of how much time you wasted over-thinking issues which, one fine day, wouldn’t even be existent. When I scrolled down my timeline, I found that my past self of several years ago was pathetic by my present standards. And the social network doesn’t allow for me to forget easily either.

ONE YEAR AGO YOU UPDATED YOUR STATUS
“OhHhh mYY GaaWD…. itzz rainingg<_> “

Why? What harm have I brought onto you, dear FB, for you to remind me of my childhood madness? That was one of the few face palm desk brick wall car train moments in my life. My diary isn’t innocent either. I read an entry of mine where I lamented a whole day over the fact that a girl hadn’t answered my question on why she was absent. Funnily enough, I realise, I have come to a point where I do not care about the reason why she never came to class.

Recently  I came across the concept of time capsules. The concept of writing a letter to future me sounded enthralling and interesting. I wondered how it would be to converse with someone exactly similar to me, albeit the changes brought on by the advent of time. But given my experience with other forms of time capsules, I do not know whether I could stomach myself.

No matter what I write in the letter, it is obvious to me that I need not fret about it given that I wouldn’t actually be interested in the problems my past faced, unless the solution had already been found in the past of my future or by the future of my past – namely myself at the present.

Speaking of the present, I realise a few things:

  1. As H. G. Wells said, we all have our time machines. Yet it is up to us to know and accept that the actions of the present are influenced by experiences and consequences. Yet it is best to take a decision based on the present moment. Acknowledge the past and future, but live in the present.
  2. If you have read all the way up to here – thank you loyal follower. I need your advice more than anyone else’s.

    It is going to be one year since I started blogging. 

    How do I commemorate it?

  3. And the worst relevation – till the moment I read my diary, I was actually free. Now I have revived a long forgotten curiosity of mine about a girl who took a day off from class. So the moral of the story : Memories are like your babies – you have to live with them throughout your life. So please use jurisdiction when you make them. Let them be happy and proud : I’m talking about your memories here, although it would apply to children too.

Thank you for reading this 700 & odd word essay. You are the reason why I am still blogging. Cheers.

7 thoughts on “Presenting the Future to my Past

  1. Woah, your new banner is out of this world! Like, literally 😉

    Anyway, I recently did the same and went down through my Facebook timeline, upto five years back and I was amused at how my younger self saw the world then. A lot of times I went, ‘that’s so silly of me’ or ‘Can’t believe I shared that in public’ 🙂 In any case, I don’t mind taking a trip down memory lane.

    How to commemorate your one year. Gee, now I’m worrying about my own anniversary. Start a new section or compile a list of your own favourite posts? I dunno, I’m so bad at this.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks bro. All thanks to Photoshop and a tutorial off the internet.
      Yah. Neither do I mind a trip down the memory lane. Sometimes, I seem silly to myself too. A new section, well, that is a good idea – and I already made the compilation earlier today. Great people think alike 😀😀😀

      Like

  2. And the worst relevation – till the moment I read my diary, I was actually free. Oh, Karthi… You are SO right. A year or so ago I read back through some of my journals pre-2003 and OML! I was depressed for days! I’m so much happier now. Journals should come with a warning label! Loved this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You made such a significant point, that our fb timeline haunts us just when we begin to forget what we don’t want to remember. And so does the diary…it embarrasses us before ourselves! Man oh man your time capsule idea is bomb though…..!

    P.S. really nice quote chosen to start with

    Liked by 1 person

Just type :)

